Gzira started the first half as the dominant team while Hamrun started to create goal scoring opportunities in the second half.

Tactically coach Steve D’Amato picked the same formation which defeated Hibernians in their first outing. However, this time D’Amato had more options since he had three new Brazilian players on the bench, namely Jorge Mesqueu Neto, Leandro Motta and Sergio Raphael.  The turning point for the Spartans was the substitution of injured Patrick Jean Teixeira Maia with Jorge Mesqueu Neto in first half.
Gzira took the lead in the 38th minute from a corner which Antonio Orlando de Queiroz Macedo Neto put past the Hamrun goalkeeper David Cassar.
In the second half, the Spartans took the offensive and created various chances.
Hamrun equalised on the 66th when off a freekick from the right by Leandro Motta from the right, Jorge Mesqueu Neto headed the ball home past the Gzira goalkeeper Jurgen Borg.
In stoppage time, the Spartans could have won the match when Motta moved past two defenders but was denied by the Jurgen Borg.
The Spartans therefore move fifth on four points, two behind the four teams who claimed maximum points from the first two matches. For Gzira, this was the second consecutive 1-1 draw.


Club1st Half2nd HalfGoalsOutcome

HAMRUN SPARTANS - David Cassar, Philip Chircop (87′ Sergio Raphael dos Anjos Raphael), Glenn Azzopardi, Mark Anthony Borg, Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza, Luke Sciberras, Luke Grech, Patrick Jean Teixeira Maia (42′ Jorge Mesqueu Neto), Jake Grech, Ryan Spiteri (56′ Leandro Wallace Motta dos Santos), Saturday Nanapere.
Subs not used: Lyden Moore, Luis Miguel Vergara Rodriguez, Rodney Refalo, Daren Falzon.
Coach: Steve D’Amato

GZIRA UNITED - Jurgen Borg, Joceano da Silva Santos, Joceano da Silva Santos (79′ Dyson Falzon), Gianmarco Conti, Rafael Pompeo Rodrigues Ledesma, Clifford Gatt Baldacchino, Moises Avila Perez, Jacob Borg, Souleymane Diamoutene, Antonio Orlando de Queiroz Macedo Neto ‘Tony’, Yanis Tonna (58′ Karl Pulo), Robert de Pinho Souza (68′ John Nwoba).
Subs not used: Jamie Azzopardi, Kyle Gerada, Andre White, Jonathan Bondin.
Coach: Branko Nisevic

Referee: Trustin Farrugia Cann
Assistant Referees: William Debattista, Jurgen Spiteri
Fourth Official: Clayton Pisani
Yellow Cards: Gatt Baldacchino, Patrick Teixeira, Tony, J. Borg, Jorginho, Sciberras, Avila Perez
Scorers: 38′ Antonio Orlando de Queiroz Macedo Neto, 66′ Jorge Mesqueu Neto
BOV Player of the Match: Jorge Mesqueu Neto
Attendance: 790



Spartans and Maroons share the spoils


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This